YPASM Polar Research Grants (Antarctica and Arctic)


Yayasan Penyelidikan Antartika Sultan Mizan (YPASM) Research Grant is awarded to encourage local researchers to undertake research in the Antarctic, Arctic and the Southern Oceans regions as well as analytical research at Malaysian institutions.

The research grant will partially support the cost of research in polar sciences and policy by providing fund for the purpose of research, capacity building or joint fieldwork in the polar region or in established polar laboratories.


YPASM Research Grant is established to:

        • Promote and support scientific research in polar regions;
        • Foster research activities that create broader beneficial impacts to the YPASM, nation and mankind;
        • Develop local expertise and human capital in polar research; and
        • Promote good governance of Polar Regions.  


All science and policy research related to the Polar Regions in the field of biology, ecology, geology, oceanography, glaciology and atmospheric science.


  • Projects must be related to scientific research in polar regions;
  • Applicant must possess a PhD in any field of science & technology;
  • Applicant must have at least 3 years experience in related  field/programme/research project; and
  • Application is open to Malaysian researchers from universities participating in YPASM Smart Partnership initiative (UM, UiTM, USM, UMS, UKM, UPM and IMU).

Projects are encouraged to involve a minimum of two (2) local or international institutions, clearly stating the respective scope of work of each collaborator.



YPASM Grant Recipients in 2016

Dr. Faridina Merican bt Sidik Merican,USM  
    Prof. Dr. Clemente Michael Wong Vui Ling,



YPASM Grant Recipients in 2015

Dr. Noor Faizul Hadry Nordin,UIAM  
Prof. Sr. Dr. Mazlan Hashim,UTM



YPASM Grant Recipients in 2014 


 Dr. Mohamad Huzaimi                  Jusoh, UiTM                     
Dr. Mohd Shahrul Mohd Nadzir, UKM
  - Report -
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Cheah Yoke Kqueen, UPM



YPASM Grant Recipients in 2013 


 Prof Dr Mohd Basyaruddin Abdul Rahman, UPM
Dr Foong Swee Yeok, USM
Dr Emienour Muzalina Mustafa,UM



                                                       How to apply?                         


Guidelines to apply for YPASM Research Grants  
Form A 
Form B






Our website is protected by DMC Firewall!