Asian Forum for Polar Sciences

The Asian Forum for Polar Sciences (AFoPS) is a non-governmental organization established in 2004 to encourage and facilitate cooperation for the advance of polar sciences among countries in the Asian region.

The Forum consists of its 6 Members, national polar research institutions representing China, Japan, South Korea, India, Malaysia and Thailand. AFoPS also has 4 observers: Indonesia, Philippines, Sri Lanka and Vietnam.

Annual General Meeting (AGM) is held at least once every year to discuss the matters of Members’ common interests. Representatives, coordinators, working group members and chairs, observers, and other designated invitees by the Chair meet at AGMs. The Chair hosts and arranges AGMs, where new research proposals for AFoPS and working group reports are considered.

Malaysia became Full Member of AFoPS in 2006 and represented by National Antarctic Research Centre (NARC), a centre under Yayasan Penyelidikan Antartika Sultan Mizan hosted by University of Malaya. Malaysia served as the AFoPS Chair and Secretariat from 2013 – 2014.

Effectively on the 1 November 2020, the chair and secretariat of Asian Forum on Polar Sciences (AFOPS) have moved to Malaysia until year 2022. We look forward to working with all our members and partners. We hope you are as excited about the coming years as we are. We wish everyone in the Polar community and beyond a safe and healthy few months.

For more information on AFoPS, you may visit their website via

AFoPS Secretariat: 

Sultan Mizan Antarctic Research Foundation &
National Antarctic Research Centre
902-4, Jalan Tun Ismail
50480 Kuala Lumpur

Tel: +603 2691 0561
Fax: +603 2694 5858