Smart Partnership Initiative

  • This initiative was introduced by YPASM in collaboration with local universities to sustain Malaysia’s involvement in Polar research. The participating universities are recognized as strategic associates of YPASM.
  • Through this Smart Partnership Initiative, it grants the participating universities an exclusive right to bid for research grants and other supports provided by YPASM yearly.
  • The first cycle of this initiative was done in 2016. The five-year cycle which ended in 2020 was participated by ten (10) local universities. A total of 56 research grants, 14 fellowship schemes, and 14 Antarctic Berth Supports amounting to RM9,746,780 have been awarded by YPASM at the end of this cycle.
  • The second Cycle (2021-2025) is currently taking place with ten universities as partners. Namely, Universiti Sains Malaysia, Universiti Malaysia Sabah, International Medical University, University of Malaya, Universiti Teknologi MARA, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, Universiti Malaysia Terengganu, Universiti Putra Malaysia and recently, Universiti Malaysia Kelantan and Universiti Malaysia Pahang had joined the initiative in 2023.
  • Each participating university is obliged to contribute RM 62,500.00 to YPASM annually for five years with an annual matching grant of RM562,500.00 from YPASM, thus offsetting more than half of the overall costs.